Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Advanced Search Options
Minutes of a meeting of inhabitants of Tryon County
No Author
July 26, 1775
Volume 10, Page 120

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Minutes of a meeting of the Freeholders in Tryon County.

North Carolina
Tryon County. } Pursuant to Notice.

At a meeting of the Freeholders of the County of Tryon at the Court House of said County on the Twenty Sixth Day of July one thousand seven hundred and seventy five; in order to elect a Committee for said County,

The Following persons were chosen to wit:

For Captain Beatey's Company—Thomas Beatey, David Jenkins, Jas. Johnston, Jacob Forney.

Captain Carpenter's Company—Thomas Espey, Valentine Mauney, Nicholas Friday.

Captain Coburn's Company—James Coburn, Robert Alexander.

Captain Harden's Company—Joseph Harden, Benj. Harden, Davis Whitesides.

Captain Hambright's Company—Frederick Hambright, James Logan.

Captain Hampton's Company—Andrew Hampton, John Morris, George Russell.

Captain Barber's Company—Charles McLean, John Robinson, John Barber.

Captain Magnes' Company—William Graham, James McAfee, Perrigreen Magnes.

Captain Paris' Company—George Paris, Ambrose Mills.

Captain Aaron Moore's Company—John Walker, John Beeman, George Black.

Captain Baird's Company—Andrew Neel, James Baird, Wm Patterson.

Captain McKinney's Company—John McKinney, Jonas Bedford.

Captain Kuykendall's Company—Abraham Kuykendall, Wm Thomason, Robert McMinn.