Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Advanced Search Options
Minutes of the Wilmington Committee of Safety
Wilmington (N.C.). Committee of Safety
August 08, 1775
Volume 10, Page 141

-------------------- page 141 --------------------
[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Proceedings of the Safety Committee at Wilmington.

Tuesday, August 8th, 1775.

At an occasional meeting of the Committee.

Present: Cornelius Harnett, chairman: Francis Clayton, deputy chairman; Arch'd Maclaine, James Geekie, John Robeson, John DuBois, Francis Brice, Wm. Ewins, Samuel Collier, Timothy Bloodworth, John Hollingsworth, Sampson Moseley, Thos. Nickson, John Campbell, Caleb Grainger, Andrew Ronaldson, Adam Boyd, William Lillington, P. Mallett, James Tate, Samuel Ashe, John Forster, William Wilkinson, Wm Campbell.

A letter from James Hepburn was received with some others and read to this Committee wherein he begs to be restored again to the favor of the public.

Ordered that James Hepburn transmit to this Committee a Deposition certified by a Magistrate, respecting the matters with which he stands charged, a recantation of his conversation with James Clardy, and sign the Continental Association.

At an election held this day for additional Delegates for this town and county, to represent them in General Convention to be held at Hillsborough on the 20th inst: Arch'd McLaine, Esq., for the town, and Wm Hooper, Alex. Lillington and James Moore, Esqs., for for the county, were duly elected by the Freeholders, as additional Delegates, with Cornelius Harnett, Esq., for the town, George Moore, John Ashe and Samuel Ashe, Esqrs, for the county, chosen on a former election, to represent them in the aforesaid Convention.

The Committee then adjourned to the next meeting.