Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Advanced Search Options
Memorandum concerning the districts in North Carolina
No Author
Volume 15, Page 377

-------------------- page 377 --------------------

“There were six Districts in N. C. in 1780.

Salisbury District containing the following counties: Anson, Rowan, Mecklenburg, Surry, Guilford, Burke, Wilkes, Washington, Lincoln, Montgomery, Rutherford, Sullivan, Richmond.

Hillsboro District: Caswell, Granville, Wake, Chatham, Orange, Randolph.

Halifax District: Currituck, Halifax, Edgecombe, Martin, Warren, Franklin, Nash.

Edenton District: Currituck, Pasquotank, Camden, Perquimans, Chowan, Yates, Bertie, Hertford, Tyrrell.

Newbern District: Craven, Carteret, Beaufort, Hyde, Johnson, Dobbs, Pitt, Jones, Wayne.

Wilmington District: New Hanover, Onslow, Duplin, Cumberland, Bladen, Brunswick.

Afterwards the following Districts were erected:

Washington and Sullivan District: Now part of Tennessee—taking part of Salisbury District.

Morgan District: In the extreme western part of the State.