Documenting the American South Logo
Colonial and State Records of North Carolina
Minutes of the Pitt County Committee of Safety
Pitt County (N.C.). Committee of Safety
December 09, 1774
Volume 09, Page 1095

[From MS. Records in Office of Secretary of State.]
Election of the Pitt County Safety Committee.

Martinborough 9th December 1774.

The freeholders of the County of Pitt appeared and agreeable to the Directions of Continental Congress made choice of the following persons to be a Committee for the County Vizt John Hardee 1, John Simpson 2, James Lockhart 3, James Lanier 4, Benjamin May 5, George Evans 6, William Rains 7, Ichabod Simpson 8, James Armstrong 9, Edward Salter 10, Frederick Gibble 11, Peter Revis 12, Amos Atkinson 13, William Bryant 14, William Robson 15, Robert Salter 16, Edwd Williams 17, David Perkins 18, Jno Knowis Jur 19, James Latham 20, James Gorham 21, Joseph Garner 22.