Documenting the American South

Commemorative Landscapes of North Carolina
Commemorative Landscapes of North Carolina
Commemorative Landscapes banner

County Map

"Commemorative Landscapes of North Carolina" is an ongoing project. We began by surveying the commemorative sites in twenty five Piedmont counties, in an arc from Rowan to Cumberland counties. Since then we have continued to survey monuments in eastern and central North Carolina. In the future we will incorporate the commemorative landscapes in the remaining counties into the digital archive. Please return to the site often and watch it as it grows. Let us know if there are commemorative sites that we have missed or that you would like us to add.

The counties currently included for this project are highlighted in blue on the map below. To see a listing of each county's monuments, click the county on the map.

NC County Map Alamance County Alexander County Alleghany County Alleghany County Anson County Ashe County Avery County Beaufort County Bertie County Bladen County Brunswick County Buncombe County Burke County Cabarrus County Caldwell County Camden County Camden County Carteret County Carteret County Caswell County Catawba County Chatham County Cherokee County Chowan County Chowan County Clay County Cleveland County Columbus County Craven County Cumberland County Currituck County Currituck County Dare County Dare County Davidson County Davie County Duplin County Durham County Edgecombe County Forsyth County Franklin County Gaston County Gates County Graham County Granville County Greene County Guilford County Harnett County Haywood County Halifax County Henderson County Henderson County Hertford County Hoke County Hyde County Hyde County Iredell County Jackson County Johnston County Jones County Lee County Lenoir County Lincoln County Macon County Madison County Martin County McDowell County Mecklenburg County Mitchell County Mitchell County Montgomery County Moore County Nash County New Hanover County New Hanover County Northampton County Onslow County Orange County Pamlico County Pamlico County Pasquotank County Pasquotank County Pender County Perquimans County Perquimans County Person County Pitt County Polk County Randolph County Robeson County Richmond County Rockingham County Rowan County Rutherford County Sampson County Scotland County Scotland County Stanly County Stokes County Surry County Swain County Transylvania County Transylvania County Tyrrell County Union County Vance County Wake County Warren County Washington County Watauga County Wayne County Wilkes County Wilson County Yancey County Yadkin County